You are hereBlogs / pmallory's blog / Peter Mallory's Blog

Peter Mallory's Blog

By pmallory - Posted on 13 March 2014

28 January 2014

On April 5 and 6, 2014, I will be back in San Diego, my California home for more than 30 years until Susan and I moved to L.A. a few years ago. I will be there to proudly coach the Loyola Marymount University Men's Crews at the San Diego Crew Classic. The Crew Classic race weekend has become a favorite occasion to see old friends and reminisce, but this year a couple of my old crews are taking things a step further. The following will appear in this spring's 2014 Regatta Program:

Thank You, San Diego Crew Classic!

1974 Cal State Long Beach Men’s Lightweight Eight
We Began Our Undefeated Season at the Crew Classic
And We’ve Returned for Our 40th Reunion!

Jay Leffingwell, Bob Latina, Bob Dunlap, Randy Piazza, Bruce Banigan, John O’Donnell, Bruce Patton, Adriaan van der Capellan, Alex Fey, Mike Harper, Irene Moreno (Teninty), Fred Mafield, Les Bell, Dave Atkins, Morton Prisament, Marsha Waer (Reino), Craig Dittenbir, PattiAnn Heuser (Macy), Bob Rogen, Roy Beard, Ken Durham, John Fletcher, Doug Corbett, Ted Beatty, Don Henderson, Chuck Wright, Our Mascot Jayvee, Coach Peter Mallory.

1975 Long Beach Rowing Assn / ZLAC Rowing Club
Men’s Lightweight Coxed-Four
We Won the Crew Classic Before Moving to International Competition
And We’ve Returned for Our 39th Reunion!

Coxswain Jean Bedford (ZLAC), Stroke-Seat Rod Johnson (UCLA/LBRA), 1975 World Silver Medal, 3-Seat (and Coach) Peter Mallory (ZLAC), 1978, ‘79, ‘80, ‘88 National Junior Team Coach, 1988 National U-23 Team Coach, 1979 Chef de Mission, 2-Seat Scott Roop (LBRA) 1976 World Bronze, 1980 World Silver, 1981 World Gold, 1982 World Silver Medal, 1997 World Champion Coach, Bow-Seat John Fletcher (LBSU/LBRA), 1979 World Silver Medal.

Some of us haven't seen each other in decades.
There will be row-bys for both boats during the weekend's racing.